Smell the coffee ..


I know a person from work .. He is not a friend but more than an acquaintance.. He is planning to get married soon and I feel scared for the girl ..
This person is in an influential role in the organization, and as such should be matured enough to differentiate between right and wrong but from what I know about him through my multiple interactions n not assumptions, he is anything but that. Its difficult to really assess whats on his mind and form an opinion about him. He  is a classic case of two sides of a coin … His actions betray trust and decisions are mostly taken for him by his folks and that evokes my sympathy for the girl ..

He was discussing his wedding plans with me over a smoke and i couldnt help but notice the smile on his face when he mentioned a substantial amount he was getting from the girl’s father. I remember few days ago we were on a break and discussing a news article about a dowry death in the city and this guy so vehemently opposing the practice. Stunned by his claims about the money and property that he was supposedly getting, i questioned him. His response left me short of words.. He stated that the money would be transferred to his dad and the property to the girl with him being given the legal rights to it. here’s our conversation..

Me:, “isnt this dowry??”

Him: ” its what the family wants to give the girl”

Me:” then y is your family involved in the transaction??”

Him: “Coz we need to know what they are giving their daughter and if they can match up to our social standard.”

Me: ” Dude, u defined dowry :)”

Him: “my family is strictly against dowry. this is what they want to give their daughter”

The discussion stretched on over couple of smokes and my arguments fell on deaf ears..

If he n I both represent the youth of India, this small discussion showed me the diversity of opinion in my great country.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rahulmd
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 03:04:55

    Most of the people when talking about dowry they are against it, but when it comes to their own,,,, the same answer..”they are giving it…We never asked for it”. Why can they say NO to it ?

    Isn’t everyone greedy ? Everyone wants more…

    Reply

  2. namrota
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 21:22:43

    Damn a hypocrite 😡
    My prayers for the girl.

    Reply

  3. My Say
    Jul 09, 2013 @ 18:57:38

    oh yes dear friend !! diversified we are the young Indians – just pick up topics – religion , politics , cricketers , favourite bolly star !! Only one thing makes us Indians – most of us – Hypocrisy ! Trust me .. we all are suffering from it .. some realize and then minimize and some do not bother .. Baapu gyaan sirf dene ke liye hota hai 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Top Rated

trip to leh

Your Leh Travel companion...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

abhineetsinha

My experiences with life

Fuchsia Outbursts

A little bit of this. A little bit of that. A little bit of me.

In My Words

Life in my own words, my thoughts, my daily happenings, whatever....

No say No see

The absence of evidence is not the evidence of an absence

When The Soul Spills

Searching for a soul that I didn't even know was lost.

Anamika Agnihotri

I m trying to write, whatever I can't speak.

Contours of Life

My journey in my words...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

contoursoflife

A journey called life in first person

A Tale of Two and a Half

Monika Amita Bakshi

Being Green and Jean

Falling in love with myself & the world.

The Wandering Nomads

Two bikes, one life, and the whole world to see

dadhwalashish

Welcome to real world.

Bandra Girl

Here to cheer you up,with food!

anjali026

A fine WordPress.com site

TalesAlongTheWay

Life's journey to discover tales of history, culture, and faith from New York to India and places along the way.

AM Free Spirit

It's about love, care, and sharing experiences

