Happy birthday Ma


I am thinking about writing something, a tribute, memoir perhaps about the person I love the most in this world. But I don’t know where to start, should I start with what I know about her? Because that could go on and on yet be merely a drop in the ocean. Should I chronicle her life? An inspiration that is for all those who have had the privilege to know her and seen her come out smiling everyday, irrespective of challenges and difficulties that time has thrown her and too grand for my humble talents or should I account for the simple person she is? A mother. My Mother.

mom n me 1986   mom n me 2012

25 years of friendship 🙂

It is natural for all kids to think of their parents as the best there could be. We know the world through their eyes, learn what they teach us, mould the way they mould us and look at life through the prism of comfort they afforded us. Our thoughts change from being in awe of them as children to thinking of them as enemies in teens and gradually understanding about life from our shared experiences with them as we grow up.  Abhi and I are no different in our opinion of parents. We are as regular as any 2 men aged 24 n 29 would be, waging our struggles, fighting our demons and occasionally allowing ourselves that moment of joy to savor accomplishments.  But we believe we are blessed, not so in the least because our dad is a man we confide in and draw inspiration from but also our mom is theeeeee most awesomely woogly woogly little creation that god can say he created.

Now its only u mom,

You are not our darling. That would be too restrictive. You are our provider, friend, 1s person on the call list, confidante, toy, mentor, agony aunt , guide, sounding board, nerd and few other things I cant think of right now.  Every day we see u, we want to give u a new name because everyday we love u more. U grow younger every year and become a better pal than the previous year. We are not jealous because you have about 50 girls from different countries call u mama, we feel proud that we are the only ones with a legit right to the claim.

It has always been pure joy to see u crack up when u answer a landline. You are the 3rd best cook in our house (though I m yet to put my cooking up for analysis but m sure I wd be 2nd). You make the best white chana that I ever tasted and the pasta you make is out of this world (Please don’t make shalgam or baingan, its not your type :P). You have always taken care of us and put our needs ahead of yours. I love u for sending 1000rs for every “I love u” I said to u while at hostel. I love it when u get that glint in your eye everytime Abhi and I talk about girls in your presence. Needless to say u have the best smile amongst the 4 of us. That u are the shortest and very portable only makes you more cute and easy to love. We especially like teasing u to get u angry when u are watching your favorite TV serials. Everytime u attempt to get angry at Abhi and he simply stands up, its funny ma to see you struggle to slap him.. and we love u when u try scolding us in Punjabi. We know u too well and your Punjabi doesn’t have the same ring to it. So far dad and Abhi have been the only ones naming you, but I will be home soon, and you know I do have a wicked sense of humor. Whenever you come up with a smart answer to any of the teasing things we say, you make a face and its suuper cute. You knew more about my girlfriends than i did and we both know that when the time is right, things will move on so better not get into the marriage debates as often as we do J. Oh and how u have evolved technologically with time 🙂 we are happy to boast of the fact that u run your own website, have 300 FB friends and have the latest I phone 5. I miss seeing you struggle with apps 😛

I speak for dad, Abhi and myself when I say that you were, are and shall always be our Queen. Our happiness stems 100% from you and to quote and adapt a line from a song, “ hum tere sarmaye hain, job hi hum ban paayein hain, tumse he.. tumse he”

Wish u a very very youthfull 53rd ma J

Love u

Image

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deepali
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 13:27:18

    So simply n beautifully expressed… God bless her and your love for your family… The bond you 4 share is an inspiration for all around.

    Reply

  2. denisefrombolton
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 15:07:50

    If I were your mum I would be very proud.

    Love Denise

    Reply

  3. Wambui Bahati
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 22:27:35

    Your mom is sooooo blessed to have you as a son. I loved when you said [‘we feel proud that we are the only ones with a legit right to the claim.” – that she is your mother] Continued Happiness to all of you!

    Reply

  4. contoursoflife
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 03:27:00

    thanx Wambui 🙂

    Reply

  5. namrota
    May 21, 2013 @ 20:11:34

    Oh how beautifully penned 🙂
    Happy Birthday to her and May God bless you all 🙂

    Reply

  6. contoursoflife
    May 21, 2013 @ 20:27:52

    Thanx Namrata 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Top Rated

trip to leh

Your Leh Travel companion...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

abhineetsinha

My experiences with life

Fuchsia Outbursts

A little bit of this. A little bit of that. A little bit of me.

In My Words

Life in my own words, my thoughts, my daily happenings, whatever....

No say No see

The absence of evidence is not the evidence of an absence

When The Soul Spills

Searching for a soul that I didn't even know was lost.

Anamika Agnihotri

I m trying to write, whatever I can't speak.

Contours of Life

My journey in my words...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

contoursoflife

A journey called life in first person

A Tale of Two and a Half

Monika Amita Bakshi

Being Green and Jean

Falling in love with myself & the world.

The Wandering Nomads

Two bikes, one life, and the whole world to see

dadhwalashish

Welcome to real world.

Bandra Girl

Here to cheer you up,with food!

anjali026

A fine WordPress.com site

TalesAlongTheWay

Life's journey to discover tales of history, culture, and faith from New York to India and places along the way.

AM Free Spirit

It's about love, care, and sharing experiences

