That moment when we grew up


IMG_0132

You find place in first memories of my childhood,
We played together all the time in your home or mine..

you were there when I changed schools as a kid,
you could have sat anywhere in the class,
but you looked for me and with me u did.

You were often held accountable for my poor show in tests,
You could have complained, instead asked me to do my best.
I hated when you tied me rakhi at school,
but later being with you in the same class was uber cool.

I helped you cheat the for the first time in a geography test,
I so wanted my sister to be better than the rest.
When I came back after 5 yrs u were there to care for me again,
till then we were just kids, n here our friendship began

I cant forget the fun we had pairing classmates,
sharing stories in the evening and being confidants

As we went along in lives, the contact became infrequent,
Yet there were always memories and smiles they always meant.

You are one of the very few who always get an answer out of me..
there’s never a dull moment between us, n I pray there never would be.

You were my companion from when I opened my eyes..
And as I walked you to the alter on your big day, A part of me cried..
There you were, my friend for the longest time, all smiles and hopes up..
There in an instance I realised its the moment we BOTH grew up

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deepali
    May 20, 2013 @ 23:06:10

    beautiful!!!!!

    Reply

  2. Saru (@PerfectOdyssey)
    May 21, 2013 @ 22:24:46

    How she reacted after reading this poem? This is so touching, comes from your heart. Beautifully written 🙂

    Reply

  3. Tanvi Sharma
    Mar 09, 2014 @ 13:29:12

    To be able to grow together in friendship is a bliss and you seem to be one of the few fortunate ones (:

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

Top Rated

trip to leh

Your Leh Travel companion...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

abhineetsinha

My experiences with life

Fuchsia Outbursts

A little bit of this. A little bit of that. A little bit of me.

In My Words

Life in my own words, my thoughts, my daily happenings, whatever....

No say No see

The absence of evidence is not the evidence of an absence

When The Soul Spills

Searching for a soul that I didn't even know was lost.

Anamika Agnihotri

I m trying to write, whatever I can't speak.

Contours of Life

My journey in my words...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

contoursoflife

A journey called life in first person

A Tale of Two and a Half

Monika Amita Bakshi

Being Green and Jean

Falling in love with myself & the world.

The Wandering Nomads

Two bikes, one life, and the whole world to see

dadhwalashish

Welcome to real world.

Bandra Girl

Here to cheer you up,with food!

anjali026

A fine WordPress.com site

TalesAlongTheWay

Life's journey to discover tales of history, culture, and faith from New York to India and places along the way.

AM Free Spirit

It's about love, care, and sharing experiences

