Cricket n My Bachpan


I love Cricket.. N here are my memories from various games and points in life:

1) Dad says I started walking for the first time as Ravi Shastri was being presented an Audi for being “Champion of Champions” in Benson & Hedges world Championship of Cricket.
2) I used to play with guys generally around 4 to 5 yrs elder to me, so this one time (the first time) I held on to a high catch was pretty special .
3) With the same group of kids, I scored a direct hit run out and the resultant hug from the team was good.
4) Discussing the performance of Indian team in 1992 world cup with guys much elder to me and always being fascinated by names and loved being referred to as Manjrekar, Ankola.
5) Aged 11, Being asked to open in a serious cricket match ( with leather/season ball) and scoring 85 still gives me shivers.
6) Aged 12, asked by my school coach to come to trials for the school u-16 team and my mom rushing me away saying that I stood no chance of making the plying XI hurt. I paid my own bus fare as a mark of protest that day.
7) Playing alone in the field, digging stumps, marking the crease, then visualising myself in the school team. Delivering the ball, walking all the way back to fetch the ball if I missed the stumps and repeating the process alone for hours at end.
8) staying at my aunts place and waking up my bhabhi at 2:30 am to watch India play in NewZealand in color clothing (1994), the first time Tendulkar opened in ODIs.
9) Missing the all Important village game being under house arrest to babysit my brother.
10) Not understanding the technicalities of bowling and proudly claiming to my school coach that I am a very good short pitch leg spin bowler. (I was embarrassed as the seniors laughed)
11) on the small verandah of my cousins place, imitating all the bowlers’ actions from wasim akram, waqar to ambrose to Donald to srinath and raju.
12) Ah the Hero Cup, Sachin and Kumble tying the opposition in knots.
13) Turning to fast bowling as I thought I had the spin covered, n generally the fast bowlers were the bullies at school..
13) After shifting to Manali, being asked to trial for the class team when the total number of guys in class was 10 !!! N then thumping the guys to all corners of the park to the effect of almost being made the captain..
14) sleep over at pankaj’s house just so we could watch India Vs West Indies and having heated debates over Noel David’s credentials.
15) Playing cricket in AAlu ground Manali and scoring back to back 20s in a team total of mid 40s.
16) Shifting to kullu for 12th and bunking classes and dividing teams on basis of “XXXXXXX k aashiq 1 taraf”
17) Those times in the evening just before tutions when I played with a stocky man referred to as guruji and being brash to the point of telling him where I m gonna hit the next ball ..
18) Being taken by absolute shocking horror of a surprise when that stocky man turned out to be the distt coach n he invited me to play for Kullu.
19) Playing for KDCA, for the first time on matting wickets, taking 7 overs to score 17 not out.
20) watched by my dad, taking 5 wickets in an over to finish the game so we could rush home before it starts to pour.
21) Attending the trials for Himachal Under 19 the day after I flunked my 12th.
22) Getting through the defence of bth the guys who scored centuries in the state finals and being praised by the coaches there..

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Indrani
    Jun 27, 2013 @ 19:51:51

    Precious memories!

    Reply

  2. Babitha Yatheeswara
    Jun 28, 2013 @ 01:16:35

    “XXXXXXX k aashiq 1 taraf” i know the “XXXXXXX’s name Lol 😛

    Reply

  3. kajal banerjee
    Jun 28, 2013 @ 20:10:50

    A very interesting presentation of the days of your association with cricket right from your childhood.

    Reply

  4. rv
    Jul 10, 2013 @ 09:46:51

    disturbed my bowling figures after knocking my two super seniors clean bowled…:x

    Reply

  5. contoursoflife
    Jul 10, 2013 @ 13:54:59

    Lol Babitha 🙂 I know u do. Thanks Kajal. And RV sorry yaar, but I had to perform for the team u know 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Top Rated

trip to leh

Your Leh Travel companion...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

abhineetsinha

My experiences with life

Fuchsia Outbursts

A little bit of this. A little bit of that. A little bit of me.

In My Words

Life in my own words, my thoughts, my daily happenings, whatever....

No say No see

The absence of evidence is not the evidence of an absence

When The Soul Spills

Searching for a soul that I didn't even know was lost.

Anamika Agnihotri

I m trying to write, whatever I can't speak.

Contours of Life

My journey in my words...

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

contoursoflife

A journey called life in first person

A Tale of Two and a Half

Monika Amita Bakshi

Being Green and Jean

Falling in love with myself & the world.

The Wandering Nomads

Two bikes, one life, and the whole world to see

dadhwalashish

Welcome to real world.

Bandra Girl

Here to cheer you up,with food!

anjali026

A fine WordPress.com site

TalesAlongTheWay

Life's journey to discover tales of history, culture, and faith from New York to India and places along the way.

AM Free Spirit

It's about love, care, and sharing experiences

